What will this year be like I wonder?

Happy 2018 to all of you. I wish each of you a year of good health, happiness, peace, love and laughter. As the new year approaches , a lot of us get caught up in resolutions most commonly the post holiday need to rush to the gym fad to shred that holiday weight and truth be told as the year comes to an end we maybe disappointed by the goals that we might not have met. We cant predict the outcome of each year, I had no idea that last year I would have the chance to do many amazing things such as start writing my blog which I will continue to do as I was reminded in a video by a friend whos a writing coach that every writers words have value, travelled to two places I hadn’t visited before (Seattle and DC),. I got to meet Jeni Stepanek a person who inspires me so much and I am so proud and honoured to call my friend, I got the MVP award for my committee at the Rogers Cup, I attended my first yoga retreat and I got to party with some of the stars of the Young and the Restless (yes I m a soap junkie) I could spend time getting caught up in the usual I haven’t met so many major lifes goals (marriage, kids, etc.) but I choose to focus on the positives and yes there are things that I want but I just resolute to being the best me.

If you are someone who is goal oriented, set out resolutions in ways that are obtainable and reach them in ways that are motivating to you.

I recently watched the movie Wonder which I cant recommend enough, one of the quotes that stands out to me is “Everyone in the world should get a standing ovation at least once in their life” and I thought to myself what is a standing ovation, it’s when people cheer you on by standing and applauding. Then I thought to myself what about to the people who have a visual impairment, people who have a hearing impairment, people who have a sensory issue and would find the noise so overwhelming, or even just those people who don’t like large crowds of people, how you cheer someone on doesn’t have to be universal and I encourage you this year to go out there and dare to be kind and be a difference making cheerleader.

Leave a comment